The Archivist and staff of the Archives actively seek, identify and acquire historically significant materials in the following categories:
The deposit, transfer, or donation of records and other materials to the Archives is made according to specific procedures established by the Archivist. In the case of deposit of College records, the office or individual of origin does not relinquish control of the materials. In the case of transfer of College records for permanent retention at the Archives, the office or individual of origin relinquishes all rights to the materials. In cases where the materials are donated to the College, the donor usually relinquishes all rights, including copyright and literary rights. Donor restrictions are acceptable in special cases as determined by the Archivist.
Austin College Archives seeks donations of written, visual, and audible records that come within the scope of the Collections Policy. The Archives prefers to receive materials as gifts, although, under special circumstances, loans may be arranged. All donations will become part of the Archives for use in exhibits and for research by historians, students, and faculty. The Archives requires that a donor agreement be executed assigning all right and title to Austin College, including copyright and literary rights. Archival holdings are generally open to interested users. Therefore, the donor should discuss any sensitive material with the archivist at the time of the donation. Should the donor wish to reserve certain rights or place conditions on the gift, he or she should discuss terms of the donation with the Archivist prior to signing a donor agreement.
Some donors may be able to claim tax deductions for the value of their gifts. In such cases donors will need to obtain an independent appraisal. Although Archives staff does not make appraisals, the Archivist may be able to provide the names of professional appraisers. Donations may be made by contacting the College Archivist, Suite 6L, Sherman, TX 75090, (903) 813-2557.
900 N. Grand Avenue, Suite 6L
Sherman, TX 75090-4400
|Monday||7:45 am - Midnight|
|Tuesday||7:45 am - Midnight|
|Wednesday||7:45 am - Midnight|
|Thursday||7:45 am - Midnight|
|Friday||7:45 am - 6:00 pm|
|Saturday||11:00 am - 5:00 pm|
|Sunday||Noon - Midnight|
|©2017 Abell Library Center | Austin College, 900 N. Grand Avenue, Sherman, TX 75090-4400 | Phone: (903) 813-2236|
|Please direct comments or questions about this website to Andrew Smith|