Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
Academic Search Elite is a multidisciplinary academic research database, offering access to 1,359 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed (non full-text) journals. A great place to begin your research!
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) makes this database a useful resource for faculty and students alike.
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Business Source Elite encompasses a selection of business disciplines, offering access to 492 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed (non full-text) journals. A great place to delve into your business research!
NYTimes.com is a multi-platform news tool that provides full access to the online New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, reviews and opinion, blogs, videos and more. NYTimes.com is updated 24/7 with corresponding time stamps. From the home page, one can access more than 25 Times sections, including World, Politics, New York, Opinion, Business, Technology, Science, Sports, Arts , Fashion & Style, and Video.
OpinionArchives is the exclusive provider of the full current and archival content of the journals indicated below. While several of the archives are available elsewhere, and aggregators have 5-15 years of content, there is no other source for this valuable collection of primary source information starting in 1850. From the first page published to the current editions, the archive is full text searchable with PDF displays of the articles. From domestic to international, coverage of politics, arts, culture from leading authors, poets, journalists and statesmen provide an extraordinary research tool for students, faculty and patrons. Publications include: American Spectator, Americas Quarterly, Commentary Magazine, Commonwealth, Dissent, Harper's Magazine, LaFollette's Magazine, The New Leader, The New Yorker, NY Review of Books, Orion Magazine, The Progressive, Washington Examiner, Washington Monthly, and The Weekly Standard.
Oxford Academic is Oxford University Press's academic research platform, providing access to over 50,000 books and 500 journals.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from Dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
 |
©2024 Abell Library Center | Austin College, 900 N. Grand Avenue, Ste. 6L, Sherman, TX 75090-4400 | Phone: (903) 813-2236 Please direct comments or questions about this website to Andrew Smith. |
