The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture is the most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance—from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. The resource provides fascinating and authoritative art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. Notable important subjects include the Apollo Belvedere, Carthage, the Euphronios krater, the Laokoon, Troy, the Venus de Milo and much more. Encompassing over four thousand years of artistry and innovation, this resource spans every art form, medium and civilization from Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire. Drawing upon the unparalleled scholarship in The Dictionary of Art (1996), and adding dozens of newly commissioned entries on recent archaeological discoveries, fully updated bibliography and over 600 illustrations, this publication sets a new standard in Classical studies.
Gordon Campbell is Professor of Renaissance Studies at University of Leicester. His interests in Classical art and archaeology have taken him to archaeological sites and museums throughout the Greek and Roman worlds. He has published widely in many disciplines, including literature and history as well as art and architecture; his work for OUP includes The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance (2003). His scholarship has been recognized by the award of three doctorates and by his election to Fellows of the Society of Antiquaries, the Royal Historical Society, the Royal Geographical Society and the Royal Asiatic Society.
Oxford Reference is the home of Oxford’s quality reference publishing, bringing together over 2 million entries, many of which are illustrated, into a single cross-searchable resource. Newly relaunched with a brand new look and feel, and specifically designed to meet the needs and expectations of reference users, Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date reference content at the click of a button. Made up of two main collections, both fully integrated and cross-searchable, Oxford Reference couples Oxford’s trusted A-Z reference material with an intuitive design to deliver a discoverable, up-to-date, and expanding reference resource.
Unparalleled in scope and depth, covers a wide range of subject areas, addressing people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands, Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia. Featuring rich and engaging articles on artists, artisans, patrons, painting, architecture, sculpture, cities, centres of production, theory, criticism, and more, this reference work is an indispensable resource for scholars, collectors, and students alike. Drawing upon the unsurpassed scholarship in The Dictionary of Art and adding dozens of new entries and hundreds of updated bibliographies, this publication sets a new standard in Northern Renaissance studies.
Gordon Campbell is Professor of Renaissance Studies at the University of Leicester. The subject of Northern Renaissance art is one of his principal interests, and he has written widely on Renaissance art and architecture. He has published on many subjects relevant to the Renaissance, including literature and history as well as art; his work for OUP includes the Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance (2003). His scholarship has been recognized by the award of a D.Litt. from the University of York, an honorary doctorate from the University of Bucharest, and by his election as fellow of both the Royal Historical Society and the South African Society for Medieval and Renaissance Art.