Biology: Reference Sources

The look and feel of searching and reading ebooks is akin to searching for journal articles and other media in the EBSCOhost databases. You can browse by subject, genre, language and more. The Viewer has been enhanced for examining documents. You are now able to view Table of Contents within your search result list and in each detailed record. "Search Within" technology is being provided to find specific terms within an ebook.

This source presents information on the life and ideas of Charles Darwin. Entries cover people, places, institutions, and writings, from Voyage of the Beagle to Darwin’s last work— on earthworms—based upon his studies at his garden in Down House. The encyclopedia also treats organisms (Beetles, Galapagos finches) as well as topics from eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century science as they relate to Darwin’s thought. For instance, there are entries for Carolus Linnaeus, the geological time scale, and DNA. The reading level is appropriate for high-school or college students or the general public interested in this great man. Biographical entries include some modern biologists, such as Stephen Jay Gould. Some entries have bibliographies for further readings. Cross-references in the text are in bold type. An appendix includes extracts from some of Darwin’s better-known works, including On the Origin of Species and Descent of Man. The general bibliography lists only books. There are, of course, biographies of Darwin, and the award-winning Encyclopedia of Evolution (Oxford, 2002) covers some similar topics, but this source is unique in that it is a reference work devoted to Darwin, his life, and his times. An excellent source to understand the impact of Darwin’s work.

This guide presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.

Contents: v. 1. Mammals, birds, reptiles -- v. 2. Amphibians, fishes, snails, mussels, and clams -- v. 3. Arachnids and crustaceans, insects, lichens, fern allies, true ferns, conifers, dicots -- v. 4-5. Dicots -- v. 6. Dicots, monocots, glossary, organizations, indexes.

Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.

Subjects: Bioethics-Encyclopedias-Medical ethics-Encyclopedias-morality-philosophy-religion

A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology, these entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies. Readers will find brief treatments on discrete concepts and individuals to illuminating lengthy essays by towering figures in the field. Topics include: Darwin, natural selection, human origins, behavioral ecology, diversity, mathematical models, and cell and developmental biology. Special essays include Stephen Jay Gould's “Macroevolution” and Jane Goodall and Elizabeth Vinson-Lonsdorf on “Culture in Chimpanzees.”

Scholars in the field of research design have written the entries for this encyclopedia. This discipline focuses on how to plan and design empirical research, including both qualitative and quantitative methods. Topics include statistics, mathematical concepts and professional organizations, procedures, tools of analysis, and so forth. More than 500 entries are included in this collection.

The Health Reference Center Academic is an integrated collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Topics included in the collection include information about alcoholism, AIDS, fitness, psychology, cancer, pediatrics, and more.