English: Internet Resources

Links to works by the best of the Beats including Ginsberg, Kerouac, and Burroughs brought together by Levi Asher.

The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.

The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts. Optical Character Recognition (OCR) has been performed on the images to enhance searching and accessing the texts. For more information on the Making of America project see About MOA.

Search the University of Michigan's Making of America Collection.

Making of America was made possible by a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

The Middle English Compendium, developed at the University of Michigan's Digital Library Production Service, provides easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources. Hypertext links offer quick connections between, e.g., an MED citation, bibliographical information about its source, and an electronic version of the source, if one is included in the collection, with the hope that eventually electronic versions of all the source texts will be available.

Full-text versions of selected reference books, anthologies, fiction, and essay collections.

This open-access collection explores the history of reading from intellectual, cultural and political viewpoints and is based on the historical holdings of Harvard Libraries. The geographical focus is on Western Europe and the U.S. from the 16th to the 20th centuries. Locate unique materials from among 800 published books and 400 manuscripts.

Provides audible recordings of poetry read by the authors themselves. Links are also available to other websites about poetry including poetry organizations and arts councils.

A gallery of portraits of antebellum American women writers accompanied by short sketches of their lives. Students of literature and cultural and art historians are encouraged to use this exhibit. All works cited are in the collections of the Library Company of Philadelphia. The graphic images may only be reproduced with permission from the Library Company.

Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

We carry high quality ebooks: Our ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers. -- from the website

Evolved from print editions of "e Representative Poetry" published by the Department of English of the University of Toronto between 1912 and 1967.

The speech accent archive uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. Native and non-native speakers of English read the same paragraph and are carefully transcribed. The archive is used by people who wish to compare and analyze the accents of different English speakers. This archive is potentially of interest not only to linguists but also to actors and others interested in spoken English.

Is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included.