Education: Finding Articles

JSTOR is an archive of journals, some dating from the early 1800's. Current issues to the journals are not available through JSTOR ; its role is an archive, though each year it does add holdings to its database. One of the key features of JSTOR is that it provides exact replicas of the original journals' pages and does so because the archive is of scanned images. Image files do not behave the way text files do -- one can't "cut and paste" from an image as you would with text -- and printing tends to take longer.

Designed with students and educators in mind, Explora provides a safe, trustworthy environment for students to look up articles and facts for research papers, class projects or homework. A far better alternative to websites and search engines, Explora provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books. Available on school computers and from mobile devices, Explora offers all of the following:

High-quality articles licensed from reputable publishers, recognized by library professionals, and selected for use in a school environment
Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results, including primary source documents, news articles, and Associated Press videos

Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic

Topic Overviews that provide students with a starting point for research

Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Numeric reading-level indicators to help students and teachers find grade-appropriate articles

No ads or pop-up windows

COPPA compliancy, meaning EBSCOdoes not ask for or require personal information to use its databases

Password-protected personal folders that allow students to save search results in a secure and organized holding area

Citation help, including the ability to export citation information to online bibliography generators such as EasyBib and NoodleTools

Designed with students and educators in mind, Explora provides a safe, trustworthy environment for students to look up articles and facts for research papers, class projects or homework. A far better alternative to websites and search engines, Explora provides students with easy-to-use features and age-appropriate content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books. Available on school computers and from mobile devices, Explora offers all of the following:

High-quality articles licensed from reputable publishers, recognized by library professionals, and selected for use in a school environment
Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results, including primary source documents, news articles, and Associated Press videos

Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic

Topic Overviews that provide students with a starting point for research

Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Numeric reading-level indicators to help students and teachers find grade-appropriate articles

No ads or pop-up windows

COPPA compliancy, meaning EBSCOdoes not ask for or require personal information to use its databases

Password-protected personal folders that allow students to save search results in a secure and organized holding area

Citation help, including the ability to export citation information to online bibliography generators such as EasyBib and NoodleTools

Davis Publications, Inc.