Reference Sources Online

Publications, reports, The CIA World Factbook, The Factbook on Intelligence. The CIA's Electronic Document Release Center also contains many documents which can be located through their Search form.

Federal registration and congressional records

EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Its primary purpose is to increase the efficiency and fairness of the securities market for the benefit of investors, corporations, and the economy by accelerating the receipt, acceptance, dissemination, and analysis of time-sensitive corporate information filed with the agency.

indexes more than 1,500 teaching and learning resources in the following categories: Arts and Music, Health and Phys Ed, History and Social Studies, Language Arts, Math and Science.

Best movies of the United States Government: training films, history, national parks, postal inspector; for reuse without restriction.

CREST
Since 2000, CIA has installed and maintained an electronic full-text searchable system named CREST (the CIA Records Search Tool), at NARA II in College Park, Maryland. The CREST system is the publicly accessible repository of the subset of CIA records reviewed under the 25-year program in electronic format (manually reviewed and released records are accessioned directly into the National Archives in their original format). Over 11 million pages have been released in electronic format and reside on the CREST database, from which researchers have printed about 1.1 million pages.
Previously, in order to directly access CREST, a researcher was required to visit the National Archives at College Park, Maryland. CIA recognized that such visits were inconvenient and presented an obstacle to many researchers. Therefore, in January 2017, the CIA published the records of the CREST collection online.

is a commercial site which provides access to government-related sites for local, state, federal, and international resources.

National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom. The National Archives has one of the largest archival collections in the world, spanning 1000 years of British history, from Domesday Book of 1086 to government papers recently released to the public.

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) collects and preserves US government records. Its Digital Vaults include approximately 1,200 digitized documents, photographs, drawings, maps and film clips. Search by keyword and tags; customize the exhibit experience by collecting images and creating posters, movies and games that can be shared by email. This media-rich site requires Adobe Flash 9 player, but an html version of the site is accessible.

A collection of declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act and made available by George Washington University.

Here you can find information about the court, as well as Opinions, or cases with their rulings. Bound volumes are provided: 502-547, 1991-1996, and more recent opinions are listed individually. You can also find a list of earlier rulings beginning in 1791. See LexisNexis for additional access to Supreme Court rulings, as well as the Library's print and microfiche collections.

Our Mission
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly.

We are guided on this mission by scientific objectivity, our strong and capable workforce, our devotion to research-based innovation, and our abiding commitment to our customers.

Our Authority
The Census Bureau operates under Title 13 and Title 26 of the U.S. Code.

Our Goal
Our goal is to provide the best mix of timeliness, relevancy, quality and cost for the data we collect and services we provide.

This online catalog is the finding tool for federal publications and provides direct links to documents available electronically on a wide variety of subjects. It includes descriptive records for both historical and current publications. To access only electronic documents, click on the Advanced Search tab, then select Internet Publications from Catalogs to Search at the top of the screen.