Political Science: Reference Sources

Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures. Also includes a chronology.

This book offers a set of alphabetically organized entries designed as a one-stop resource for high school and college students, members of the general public, and scholars interested in the numerous proposals that individuals have introduced to amend the U.S. Constitution.

"This updated version will work nicely with more general titles on the Constitution, Bill of Rights, and American political history. Recommended for all libraries." - Library Journal
"For scholars, high school and college students, and general readers, Vile presents an encyclopedia of constitutional amendments, proposed amendments by Congress and ordinary citizens, proposed constitutions, and amending issues, from 1789 to 2010. It contains about 525 entries organized alphabetically that are mostly on the 27 ratified amendments, but including successful and unsuccessful proposed amendments by topic, such as abortion, citizenship, powers of Congress, free trade, impeachment, lynching, minimum wages, polygamy, slavery, terrorism, and voting rights." - Reference & Research Book News
"This is a highly recommended title for any collection serving serious researchers and students of the Constitution." - Booklist
"Now in its third edition, this encyclopedia by Vile remains the quintessential work for this subject area—constitutional amendments. . . . Vile has meticulously reduced the redundancies in existing entries, an approach that has resulted in a more focused and ultimately indispensable resource. This extremely user-friendly set, featuring 75-plus new entries, offers an authoritative, insightful perspective on constitutional amendments. Academic and public library collections will benefit greatly by having this work in their collections. . . . Essential. Lower-level undergraduates and above; general readers." - Choice

This encyclopedia spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.

Subjects: International relations; Human rights; Genocide; Government and political science; Social issues; Political science; history

Discusses the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations. Focuses on important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites.

Traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. It examines the interplay of political ideas and processes to convey the vitality and excitement of politics in practice.

How do we arrange our collective affairs? Why do we live together in the ways we do? How ought we to live together? All humans think about the world they live in, its history and future, and the ideals by which they want to live in relation to others. How we think today decisively influences the world of tomorrow. This encyclopedia attempts to bring greater clarity and understanding to political debate. Drawing together a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Political Theory examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times: the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. With more than 450 entries, these three volumes provide a quick, one-stop source to key topics in the field. Key Features: Examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them. Includes specific lists of entries that deal with constitutional thought and democratic thought. Refers to distinctive norms and features of various governments, legal systems, and societies. Devotes large parts to the history of ideas about government, ethics, and society. Provides a chronology of political theory to help readers see how a given theorist, school, or issue fits into the bigger historical picture. Key Themes: Ancient Thought; Applied Ethics; Biographies; Comparative Theory; Constitutional Thought; Critical Theory; Democratic Thought; Early Modern Thought; International Theory; Justice; Liberal Theory; Medieval Thought; Modern Theory; Power and Authority; Religious Thought; Self and Community. This work is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary political theory. It will be a welcome addition to any academic or public library.

The set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.

Focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. Overview essays address the history of such topics as citizenship, due process, Native Americans, racism, and contraception, emphasizing the social context of each and the social and political pressures that shaped interpretation.

Focuses on American campaigns, elections, and electoral behavior but also provides a culturally and politically diverse perspective of American democratic practices and institutions. Offers a rich campaign history. Provides a description and scholarly analysis for all presidential elections, including state and general elections. Presents and simplifies complicated election laws that govern federal, state, and local elections.

Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.

Covers the Court's entire history; its operations; its power in relation to other branches of government; major decisions affecting the other branches, the states, individual rights and liberties; and biographies of the justices.

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History, edited by Stanley N. Katz, is the first encyclopedia of law to provide both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems. A truly international and interdisciplinary reference work, the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History covers legal history from ancient to modern times. Approximately 1,000 articles explore the traditions of Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia. Major categories of law explained in detail include private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), public law (statutory, criminal, etc.), and higher or constitutional law.

Using statutes and administrative rulings, judicial decisions, and descriptions of legislatures, agencies, and courts, the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History offers a clear background on geographically distinctive laws, their origins, and their consequences throughout world history.

The look and feel of searching and reading ebooks is akin to searching for journal articles and other media in the EBSCOhost databases. You can browse by subject, genre, language and more. The Viewer has been enhanced for examining documents. You are now able to view Table of Contents within your search result list and in each detailed record. "Search Within" technology is being provided to find specific terms within an ebook.