Political Science: Internet Resources

ETH Zurich. Based at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ), featuring an international perspective with gray literature of all types, daily briefings, a monthly summary, primary source material, books, and many journals - over 15,000 items primarily in English in the Publishing House section alone - from institutes, universities, and agencies around the world, as well as case studies and hundreds of e-learning courses, all in full-text, and abstracted, archived, and indexed.

Federal registration and congressional records

Website is organized by region, by issue, and by publication type, and all cross-indexed. There are links to primary documents - treaties, UN resolutions, speeches, communiques, etc. - links to background material - probing interviews with experts; brief "explainers" reported and written by the editorial staff of CFR.org that delve deeply into an issue; and reports from the Council on Foreign Relations, other institutions, and government agencies - and links to news coverage from media sources around the world.

Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series.

Each book was written by a multidisciplinary team of social scientists, who sought to adhere to accepted standards of scholarly objectivity. The books represent the analysis of the authors and should not be construed as an expression of an official U.S. government position, policy, or decision.

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. A priority Open Government Initiative, Data.gov increases the public's ability to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Descriptions of the Federal datasets are provided as well as information about how to access the datasets. A primary goal of Data.gov is to improve access to Federal data and expand creative use of those data beyond the walls of government by encouraging innovative ideas (e.g., web applications). Data.gov strives to make government more transparent and is committed to creating an unprecedented level of openness in Government.

IFES: Maintained by the International Foundation of Election Systems and provides comprehensive and accurate election information including voting and demographic data.

Managed by the American Society of International Law. It contains a large scope of information through web sites and web documents related to international law.

Created by Professor Doug Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School. One of the oldest websites, maintained over twenty years (1995).

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations leads international efforts to defeat hunger. Under the section, Global Issues, can be found subsections on Biodiversity, Climate Change, Water Scarcity, and the World Food Situation.

Specifically designed to assist students and other individuals interested in International Relations, International Law, and U.S. Foreign Policy.

A non-profit, nonpartisan organization, through a vast array of international programs and publications, Freedom House is working to advance the remarkable worldwide expansion of political and economic freedom.

Access more than 25 million pages of historical documents, 450,000 photographs, and thousands of audiovisuals related to Ford's presidency, Foreign Affairs, National Security, Domestic Affairs and Politics.

A Library of Congress Internet site maintained by the Serial and Government Publications Division of the Library of Congress and has links to U.S. and foreign government information.

Founded in 1973, The Heritage Foundation is a research and educational institution—a think tank—whose mission is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense.

We believe the principles and ideas of the American Founding are worth conserving and renewing. As policy entrepreneurs, we believe the most effective solutions are consistent with those ideas and principles. Our vision is to build an America where freedom, opportunity, prosperity, and civil society flourish.

Heritage’s staff pursues this mission by performing timely, accurate research on key policy issues and effectively marketing these findings to our primary audiences: members of Congress, key congressional staff members, policymakers in the executive branch, the nation’s news media, and the academic and policy communities.

The Digital Archives of the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum.

LLRX.com is a unique, free, independent, one woman published Web journal dedicated to providing legal, library, IT, CI/BI, marketing, communications, Congressional, legislative, academic and administrative professionals, as well as students, with the most up-to-date information on a wide range of web research and technology-related issues, applications, resources and tools. LLRX is in its 20th year of continuous publication, with a diverse, professional, highly engaged and expert global readership.
LLRX.com was established in 1996 by Founder, Editor and Publisher Sabrina I. Pacifici who has been an active and pioneering member of the online legal community since its inception. She created the journal PLL Perspectives in 1989, and served as its only Editor and Publisher until 1996. She then focused her efforts on the new and evolving arena of web publishing, and developed one of the first online journals on web research targeted to the legal community – and the only solo publication in this sector that is still actively published – 20 years later. Debuting in November 1996, LLRX.com was quickly established as a reliable “go-to” online resource for researchers to effectively and pro-actively leverage and implement the expanding expertise and knowledge of individuals and groups in the legal community by sharing best practices through open access e-journals on the World Wide Web. With Sabrina as the sole Editor, Publisher and Web Manager, the site has consistently been recognized as a publisher of focused, comprehensive, well-documented, non-partisan, content-rich, up-to-date topical guides and actionable information on web-based applications, services and knowledge discovery, for researchers in the legal, academic, government, corporate, news and public interest sectors.

Includes 2,500 hours and more of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings, and other documents from the executive branch.

An online public opinion site that publishes the results of current polls conducted by US public survey organizations such as NPR, Fox News, Harris and Gallup.

The Presidential Timeline of the Twentieth Century consists of documents, graphics, and audio files from the presidency of Herbert Hoover through that of Bill Clinton.

The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decision making through research and analysis.

"Culls and publishes the best commentary, news, polling data, and links to important resources from all points of the political compass and covering all the important issues of the day."

The Southern Poverty Law Center was founded in 1971 as a small civil rights law firm. Today, the Center is internationally known for its tolerance education programs, its legal victories against white supremacists and its tracking of hate groups.

Here you can find information about the court, as well as Opinions, or cases with their rulings. Bound volumes are provided: 502-547, 1991-1996, and more recent opinions are listed individually. You can also find a list of earlier rulings beginning in 1791. See LexisNexis for additional access to Supreme Court rulings, as well as the Library's print and microfiche collections.

The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.

The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records. Documents are available in the official languages of the UN; some documents are also available in German.

ODS does not have the following types of materials: documents issued before 1993 that have not yet been digitized, press releases, sales publications, such as the Yearbook and the Treaty Series, and documents that do not have a UN symbol.

ODS is maintained by the Office of Information and Communications Technology (OICT). New documents are added by the Department for General Assembly and Conference Management (DGACM). Scanned documents and metadata are contributed by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the UN Office at Geneva Library.

This website is best used in recent versions of all major browsers. To download multiple documents, please use Google Chrome or Opera.

If you have any questions or problems, please contact the Information and Communications Technology Service Desk at 212-963-3333 or by e-mail.

Contains links to conversations with noted scholars, as well as other related information through Dialogue, the Center's weekly radio program.

Reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for 212 countries and territories over the period 1996-2007, for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence, Government Effectiveness, Regulatory Quality, Rule of Law, Control of Corruption. It is a project of the World Bank.