posts over 1,000 stories daily in English and French and offers a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 900,000 articles in its searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997).
An analysis of news and public affairs independent from traditional corporate media is available from this diverse video library. From Democracy Now's daily news program, to three days of TV news coverage following the 911 attacks, to Mosaic’s timely clips of Middle East newscasts, to UCSF's Tobacco Industry Videos: These collections offer an alternative way to view and interpret current news and public affairs.
Many of these videos are available for free download.
Opposing Views provides balanced coverage in an increasingly partisan media climate. We give an unfiltered look at politics, societal issues, international affairs and culture to help you make informed decisions on what matters most.
It is our mission to tell you the truth— no hidden agendas, no secret intentions; just the truth: unfiltered, undisguised and well-informed.
Like you, we think the truth is a rare thing in the news business. So at Opposing Views, we strive to be different.
We don’t create content to serve a political agenda; we create content that's fair, balanced and nonpartisan. We are not here to serve anyone else’s motives; we are here to give you the facts and to put you in the heart of the debate.
At Opposing Views, we know you don’t need to be told how to think; you need the truth so that you can decide for yourself who to trust.
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Founded in 1996 and located in San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes: texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.
Founded by Dan Wolf, Ed Fancher, and Norman Mailer in 1955, the Village Voice introduced free-form, high-spirited, and passionate journalism into the public discourse. As the nation's first alternative newsweekly, the Voice today carries on the same tradition of no-holds-barred reporting and criticism it embraced when it began publishing 60 years ago.
The recipient of three Pulitzer Prizes, the National Press Foundation Award, and the George Polk Award, the Voice remains a vigilant investigative watchdog and a go-to source for coverage of New York's vast cultural landscape. The Voice's unique mix of in-depth newswriting and reporting, incisive arts, culture, music, dance, film, and theater reviews, and comprehensive entertainment listings provides readers with an indispensable perspective on the inner workings of the world's most vibrant city.
The Voice website, www.villagevoice.com, has twice been recognized as one of the nation's premier online venues for quality journalism and local content. The site is a past winner of both the National Press Foundation's Online Journalism Award and the Editor & Publisher EPPY Award for Best Overall U.S. Weekly Newspaper Online. -- from the website