features links to online exhibitions created by libraries, archives, and historical societies ... with a significant focus on library and archival materials. Scope is international and multi-lingual. Exhibitions included in this guide draw their inspiration and content primarily from library and archival materials, including ... printed books, book illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, printed ephemera, posters, archival sound and video recordings, artist's books, and the book arts ...
Offers searchable online literature for the student, educator, or enthusiast. To find the work you're looking for start by looking through the author index. Currently has over 3500 full books and over 4400 short stories and poems by over 260 authors. Quotations database has over 8500 quotes, and quiz system features over 340 quizzes.
Manybooks was established in 2004 with the vision to provide an extensive library of books in digital format for free on the Internet. Many of the early eBooks are from the Project Gutenberg archives, which means you will be able to find a lot of classics on the site.
Over a decade later, we are still going strong in our mission to provide a valuable service to our readers. Manybooks has grown into a platform where self-publishing authors have the opportunity to introduce their work to our community and new books are uploaded to our site daily - provided they comply to our quality standards.
In our daily newsletter, we keep our rapidly growing list of active subscribers up to date on the latest free and discounted eBooks that are available online.
-- from the website
Our local index includes more than 2 million works in various formats that meet these criteria. (Over 50,000 are in our "curated collection", representing entries we've personally edited. The rest are in our "extended shelves", entries that are provided by other organizations and imported in bulk.) All of the books we list should be free at least for personal, noncommercial use. -- from the website
The Open Content Alliance (OCA) represents the collaborative efforts of a group of cultural, technology, nonprofit, and governmental organizations from around the world that will help build a permanent archive of multilingual digitized text and multimedia content. The books in this collection were sponsored by Yahoo! and the Sloan Foundation. Please visit opencontentalliance.org for more information. -- from the website