Please contact the appropriate library personnel with questions regarding any of these services.
Let your students know that the library is here to help! Feel free to use the Syllabus Statement below in any of your course materials (syllabi, Moodle sites, assignment handouts, etc.).
Abell Library is here to help you find the resources you need to succeed! Visit us online at www.austincollege.edu/library or whenever we are open to discover a wealth of scholarly articles and books, DVDs, and more. Access librarians via email, chat, Zoom, or just call us for personal assistance. A variety of study spaces and technology are also available. (The Extended Study Area is available 24/7 throughout the year with valid AC ID.) Regular Semester Hours: Mon-Thu 7:45am-9pm; Fri 7:45am-6pm; Sat CLOSED; Sun 1pm-9pm. Phone: 903-813-2236 / Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Not sure what we can teach your students? A librarian can visit your class to provide instruction on a variety of topics, ranging from accessing library resources and using advanced searching techniques, to more in-depth discussion and analysis of information sources and usefulness/appropriateness. Check out the Library Instruction Menu for an array of options.
Depending on the desired learning outcomes for your course, one library session may be sufficient. However, if your students haven’t previously been introduced to the library and have a research assignment for your class (e.g., in FYS or another intro level course), two sessions are highly recommended.
The list of menu options is not exhaustive, so if there are other resources or topics you would like addressed that are not mentioned here, we're happy to discuss the options with you. Please contact Andrew Smith (Instruction Librarian) with any questions and to customize your library session(s)!
Special note for the 2020-21 Academic Year: Because of our procedures for quarantining returned materials, we are not able to offer print reserves unless you provide multiple copies to accommodate the demand of your class. Instead, we will offer e-book versions or digital scans where possible. Please use the Reserve Request Form as usual, however. We will follow up with you about availability and access.
You can place books, photocopies, or media (more info below) on reserve for your courses. Please complete the Reserve Request Form to place items from either the library's (or your own personal) collection on reserve. Your students can check out print reserve materials for a specified time (2 hours, 1 day, or 3 days), which you can indicate on the form. Please allow 48 hours for processing materials for the reserve collection (not including weekends). Contact the Circulation Department or Barbara Cornelius for more information.
For further detail on the current U.S. Copyright timetable, please see Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States. This resource is courtesy of Cornell University's Copyright Information Center.
You can check out media materials for classroom use, as well as place these items on reserve. As with books and photocopies, please complete the Reserve Request Form to place items from either the library's (or your own personal) collection on reserve. Students can check out media reserve materials for a specified time (2 hours, 4 hours, or 1 day), which you can indicate on the form. Various types of media can be found in our online catalog by limiting your search to the location “Circulating Media Collection” or “Closed Media Stacks.”
Please allow 48 hours for processing materials for the reserve collection (not including weekends). Contact the Circulation Department to check out media materials for classroom use and place media materials on reserve.
NOTE: To schedule Media Equipment, please contact Information Technology at x2063.
Book and media purchase requests may be submitted to Jane Donahue in the library's Acquisitions Department. These requests should be submitted using our Purchase Request Form, but may also be submitted via email, campus mail, or in person. Jane will inform you and/or your library liaison by email when your selections are available. Likewise, librarians are assigned to work as liaisons with specific academic departments; periodically, they will compile lists of highly reviewed materials specific to your discipline and share these with your departmental chairs/liaisons for review and selection.
Please help to create a library collection that will enhance the curriculum and support the assignments for your classes!
Make an appointment with any librarian to learn about new research tools available through the library. Librarians will meet with any interested individuals or departments to discuss and demonstrate new library resources pertaining to your discipline and interests.
For reference assistance you may also email us your query. Look for a response from a librarian within 48 hours, excluding weekends. The librarian will make every attempt to answer your question(s) or refer you to a source to obtain your answer.
If a database or catalog search reveals that we do not have a book or journal title in our library, please complete and submit the appropriate Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form for the item (see buttons below). (Note: you will also find ILL Form links available in many databases as well as the catalog.)
We accept requests for on-campus delivery of books, media, or photocopies of journal articles from our collection. In most cases, requests will be delivered to you within 24 hours Monday through Friday. Please submit your request via the Document/Book Delivery Request Form. Contact the Circulation Department for more information.
Following is a list of the rooms/spaces available for use in the library. Once you have determined which space will work best for your class or meeting, please contact Maridyth Spore (x2372) in the Registrar's Office (unless otherwise noted) to check for availability and to reserve the room*. (You may also view and/or add the room scheduling calendars to your Outlook).
*NOTE: Reservations for the Abell Conference Room (AB 209) and Large Presentation Area are managed by the library; contact Donna Flatt via email (or call x2490) to check for availability and reserve those spaces.
Abell Computer Classroom (116)
Location: 1st floor of library, NW corner
Features: instructional computer workstation with overhead projector, projection screen, and secondary large LCD display, student computer workstations, and a white board.
|Large Presentation Area||
Location: 1st floor of library, directly behind the atrium
Features: a versatile, open space with a large LCD display configured for presentations with a laptop, along with comfortable seating for groups of up to 20. Ideal for a small class/seminar, or other special events.
|BYOD Classroom (208)||
Location: 2nd floor of library, to the right of the stairwell
Features: this "Bring Your Own Device" space features an overhead projector/screen configured for presentational use with a laptop, student computer workstations, and a small mobile white board.
|Conference Room (209)||
Location: 2nd floor of library, to the right of the stairwell
Features: large configurable table that seats up to 12 (along with space for additional seating), and a small stationary white board.
Lecture Classroom (233)
Location: 2nd floor of library, to the left of the stairwell
Features: instructional computer workstation w/ overhead projector/screen, video playback equipment for Blu-Ray/DVD/VHS, and white boards.
Abell Library is a participating member of the TexShare program through the Texas State Library and Archives Commission that extends free reciprocal borrowing privileges to each other's faculty, staff, and students. Each library has specific rules and regulations regarding access to their materials, so check the lending policy of a particular library for policies, hours, and phone numbers before making a trip to that library. More information on the card can be found here.
NOTE: Please see our Other Libraries page for help locating and searching within other libraries throughout Texas.
©2019 Abell Library Center | Austin College, 900 N. Grand Avenue, Sherman, TX 75090-4400 | Phone: (903) 813-2236
Please direct comments or questions about this website to Andrew Smith.