Please contact the appropriate library personnel with questions regarding any of these services.
Let your students know that the library is here to help! Feel free to use the Syllabus Statement below in any of your course materials (syllabi, Moodle sites, assignment handouts, etc.).
Abell Library is here to help you find the resources you need to succeed! Visit us online at www.austincollege.edu/library or whenever we are open to discover a wealth of scholarly articles and books, DVDs, and more. Access librarians through our website, or stop in for personal assistance. A variety of study spaces, computers, and printing/scanning/copying also available. (The 24 hour Extended Study Area is accessible with a valid AC ID.) Hours: M-Th 7:45am-Midnight; F 7:45am-6pm; Sa 11am-5pm; Su Noon-Midnight. Phone: 903-813-2236 / Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Not sure what we can teach, or how long a topic may take? A librarian can visit your class to instruct students on a wide variety of topics, ranging from simply accessing our resources to more in-depth discussion of information skills and concepts. Check out the Library Instruction Menu to see some popular instruction options.
If you are teaching C/I, please also review the new Instruction Options for C/I.
For some topics, you may opt for either a Brief or Full Session. Brief (B) Sessions are lecture-based and provide a general overview of a concept (and may be combined with other topics), while Full (F) Sessions allow a more comprehensive and interactive treatment of the topic (which may incorporate activities and hands-on practice, as well as time to work on the assignment with librarian assistance).
The list is not exhaustive, so if there are resources or topics you would like addressed that are not mentioned, we're happy to discuss the options with you. Choose a standalone "Quick Visit," or mix/match some of the other options below to customize your library instruction session! Please contact Andrew Smith (Instruction Librarian) with any questions.
You can place books, one-sided photocopies, or media (more info below) on reserve for your courses. Please complete the Reserve Request Form to place items from either the library's (or your own personal) collection on reserve. Your students can check out print reserve materials for a specified time (2 hours, 1 day, or 3 days), which you can indicate on the form. Please allow 48 hours for processing materials for the reserve collection (not including weekends). Contact Greg Dawson (Access Services Librarian) for more information.
For further detail on the current U.S. Copyright timetable, please see Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States. This resource is courtesy of Cornell University's Copyright Information Center.
You can check out media materials for classroom use, as well as place these items on reserve. As with books and photocopies, please complete the Reserve Request Form to place items from either the library's (or your own personal) collection on reserve. Students can check out media reserve materials for a specified time (2 hours, 4 hours, or 1 day), which you can indicate on the form. Various types of media can be found in our online catalog by limiting your search to the location “Circulating Media Collection” or “Closed Media Stacks.”
Please allow 48 hours for processing materials for the reserve collection (not including weekends). Contact Greg Dawson to check out media materials for classroom use and place media materials on reserve.
NOTE: To schedule MEDIA EQUIPMENT, please contact Information Technology at x2063.
Librarians are assigned to work with specific academic departments and will provide subject specific Choice reviews to departmental liaisons. Departmental liaisons will submit your requests to Jane Donahue. Requests can be submitted via email, campus mail, in person, or via the Purchase Request Form. Jane will inform you or your liaison by email when your selections are available. Please help to create a library collection that will enhance the curriculum and support the assignments for your classes.
Following is a list of the rooms/spaces available for use in the library. Once you have determined which space will work best for your class or meeting, please contact Donna Flatt (unless otherwise noted) to check for availability and to reserve the room*. (You may also view and/or add the room scheduling calendars to your Outlook).
*NOTE: The Abell Computer Classroom (AB 116) must be reserved via the Registrar's Office; contact Maridyth Spore via email (or call phone extension 2373) to check for availability and reserve this space.
Abell Computer Classroom - Rm 116
Location: 1st floor of library, NW corner
Features: instructional computer workstation with overhead projector, projection screen, and secondary large LCD display, 30 student computer workstations, and a white board.
|Large Presentation Area||
Location: 1st floor of library, directly behind the atrium
Features: a versatile, open space with dual large-screen LCD monitors configured for presentational use with a laptop, along with comfortable seating for groups of up to 20. Ideal for a small class or seminar.
|Instructional Computer Classroom - Rm 208||
Location: 2nd floor of library, to the right of the stairwell
Features: instructional computer workstation w/ overhead projector, 25 student computer workstations, printer, and a small mobile white board.
|Conference Room - Rm 209||
Location: 2nd floor of library, to the right of the stairwell
Features: large oval table that seats up to 12 (along with space for additional seating), and a small stationary white board.
Bibliographic Instruction ("BI") Classroom - Rm 233
Location: 2nd floor of library, to the left of the stairwell
Features: instructional computer workstation w/ overhead projector and projection screen, video playback equipment for DVD/VHS, and white boards.
Make an appointment with any librarian to learn about new research tools available through the library. Librarians will meet with any interested individuals or departments to discuss and demonstrate new library resources pertaining to your discipline and interests.
For reference assistance you may also email us your query. Look for a response from a librarian within 48 hours, excluding weekends. The librarian will make every attempt to answer your question(s) or refer you to a source to obtain your answer.
If a database or catalog search reveals that we do not have a book or journal title in our library, please complete and submit the appropriate Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form for the item (see buttons below). (Note: you will also find ILL Form links available in many databases as well as the catalog.)
We accept requests for on-campus delivery of books, media, or photocopies of journal articles from our collection. In most cases, requests will be delivered to you within 24 hours Monday through Friday. Please submit your request via the Document/Book Delivery Request Form. Contact Greg Dawson for more information.
Abell Library is a participating member of the TexShare program through the Texas State Library and Archives Commission that extends free reciprocal borrowing privileges to each other's faculty, staff, and students. Each library has specific rules and regulations regarding access to their materials, so check the lending policy of a particular library for policies, hours, and phone numbers before making a trip to that library. More information on the card can be found here.
©2018 Abell Library Center | Austin College, 900 N. Grand Avenue, Sherman, TX 75090-4400 | Phone: (903) 813-2236
Please direct comments or questions about this website to Andrew Smith.