Reference Sources Online

Via 100 entries or "mini-chapters," 21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of anthropology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. This two-volume set provides undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that serves their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but in a clear, accessible style, devoid of jargon, unnecessary detail or density.Key Features- Emphasizes key curricular topics, making it useful for students researching for term papers, preparing for GREs, or considering topics for a senior thesis, graduate degree, or career.- Comprehensive, providing full coverage of key subthemes and subfields within the discipline, such as applied anthropology, archaeology and paleontology, sociocultural anthropology, evolution, linguistics, physical and biological anthropology, primate studies, and more.- Offers uniform chapter structure so students can easily locate key information, within these sections: Introduction, Theory, Methods, Applications, Comparison, Future Directions, Summary, Bibliography & Suggestions for Further Reading, and Cross References.- Available in print or electronically at SAGE Reference Online, providing students with convenient, easy access to its contents.

This guide presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.

Contents: v. 1. Mammals, birds, reptiles -- v. 2. Amphibians, fishes, snails, mussels, and clams -- v. 3. Arachnids and crustaceans, insects, lichens, fern allies, true ferns, conifers, dicots -- v. 4-5. Dicots -- v. 6. Dicots, monocots, glossary, organizations, indexes.

Focuses on writers and works published since 1950. The majority of the authors surveyed are African American, but representative African and Caribbean authors are also included.

Subjects: American literature-African American authors-History and criticism-African literature-Black authors-History and criticism-Caribbean literature-Black authors-History and criticism-African Americans-Intellectual life-African Americans in literature-Blacks-Intellectual life-Blacks in literature

Provides information on America's top cities--those fastest-growing, as well as those with a particular historical, political, industrial, and/or commercial significance. City-specific profiles organize pertinent facts, data, and figures related to demographic, economic, cultural, geographic, social, and recreational conditions.

A geographical Gazetteer is a geographical index or dictionary. The Columbia Gazetteer of the World is a comprehensive gazetteer functioning as a an encyclopedia of geographical places and features.

The approximate 170,000 entries encompasses the many world wide changes that have occurred in the past 11 years since the 1998 print edition. These entries are supervised by a board of 150 leading geographical scholars from all parts of the world.

The Gazetteer covers demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings. Their length varies from a brief notation on a small village to an essay on a country or region.

Entry categories include:

The political world--major geographic regions, counties, provinces, regions, states, districts, capitals, cities, town, villages, neighborhoods, special districts.
The physical world--continents, oceans, seas, gulfs, lakes, lagoons, rivers, bays, inlets, channels, streams, islands, archipelagos, peninsulas, atolls, mountains, mountain ranges, canyons, deserts, valleys, glaciers, volcanoes.
Special places--national parks, reserves and monuments, historic and archeological sites, resorts, airports, ports, dams, nuclear plants, mines, canals, shopping malls, theme parks, stadia, military bases, fortified lines, mythic places.

A compilation of U.S. Department of State reports on contemporary political and economic conditions, government personnel and policies, political parties, religions, history, education, press, radio and TV, climate, and other characteristics of selected countries of the world; together with travel alerts, passport and visa information, world health information for travelers, and customs and duty tips for returning residents.

Covers the Court's entire history; its operations; its power in relation to other branches of government; major decisions affecting the other branches, the states, individual rights and liberties; and biographies of the justices.

Provides an overview of the full range of current knowledge about learning and memory, revised from the 1992 edition. Features new articles and article updates that capture advances in the changing fields of memory, neuroscience, and cognition. New entries include autobiographical memory, collective memory, schizophrenia and memory, and other topics. For academic audiences.

Subjects: Learning, Psychology of-Encyclopedias-Memory-Encyclopedias-Learning in animals-Encyclopedias-Animal memory-Encyclopedias-Neuropsychology-Encyclopedias-Animals-psychology-Encyclopedias-English-Learning-Encyclopedias-English-Memory-Encyclopedias-English-Neuropsychology-Encyclopedias-English-Cognitive Sciences-Social Sciences

The Oxford Companion to World Exploration: This landmark scholarly work offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the United States. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. The Encyclopedia fills a void in the historical scholarship of an underserved population.

Focuses on the contrast between border security before and after the 9/11 terrorist attacks. Examines the controversial topics of illegal immigration, counterterrorism, drug and weapons trafficking, human smuggling, the impact of border security on the movement of people and goods, and the effect of the war on terrorism on civil and human rights.

Contents: Background and history -- Problems, controversies, and solutions -- Border security in an international context -- Chronology -- Biographical sketches -- Data and documents -- Directory of organizations and government agencies.

From Christopher Columbus and the conquistadors to the dawn of the 21st century, the Americas have rarely been conflict-free. From explorers and empire-builders confronting indigenous peoples while looking for wealth in the New World to revolutionaries and nationalists seeking to redefine their countries, these conflicts have had consequences well beyond the boundaries of the Western Hemisphere.

Except for those named HarrietóTubman and Beecher Stowe, to be preciseówomen are invisible in Civil War history. The traditional treatment focuses on the men who directed and fought the war. This encyclopedia lifts the curtain on the untold stories of women as warriors, spies, fundraisers, and propagandistsóthe whole range of war-related activity.